Welcome to Anime Review #69.The anime this week is Rozen Maiden




Season 1 ~ Oct 8th, 2004 ~ Dec 24th, 2004 (Fall 2004)

Season 2 ~ Oct 21st, 2005 ~ Jan 27th, 2006 (Fall 2005)


Traumatized by school, Jun Sakurada spends his days at home as a shut-in, purchasing things online, only to send them back before the free trial period ends. So when a note appears on his desk, asking whether or not he would wind something, he assumes it was something he ordered and carelessly circles “yes,” changing his life forever.

A box arrives with a wind up doll inside, but this is no ordinary toy: after Jun winds her up, she begins walking and talking as if a normal person. With a haughty attitude, she introduces herself as Shinku, the fifth doll in the Rozen Maiden collection, a group of special dolls made by the legendary dollmaker Rozen. These sisters must battle each other in a competition called the Alice Game with the help of a human to ensure victory. The winner becomes Alice, a real girl who is worthy of meeting their creator.

As more sentient dolls end up taking residence in Jun’s house, and a foe from Shinku’s past makes her appearance, Jun’s life becomes far more complicated than he ever thought possible.

My Opinion:

It’s been awhile since I’ve watched Rozen Maiden and I remembered why I should give it a re-watch here soon. Even though it was originally released in 2004 and the animation may look outdated I still enjoyed myself somewhat.

The story didn’t really follow through with the pilot episode. Most of the first season from what I can remember was pretty lackluster in the middle, but shined from the beginning and at the end. To keep the review short it’s basically just a couple dolls who fight each other to become the “perfect” doll. It’s nothing too exciting for it being made during it’s time, but the comedic side and story telling will keep it somewhat interesting.

If you’re into watching older anime, even though this is only 15 years old, I would definitely give it a watch if you have some free time. I will admit that it’s not really for everyone and I only watched it on someone suggesting it to me. Anyways hope you all enjoyed reading this anime review and will see you guys next time!

Seasons & Episodes:

Season 1 ~ 12 Episodes
Season 2 ~ 12 Episodes



Thanks for reading, See you on the next anime of the week! Also, you can ask below if you want to do one yourself 🙂